+27 (0) 21 86 333 57 info@picardie.co.za

The history of Picardie

 Picardie permeates a rich heritage that irrevocably contributes to it’s current day charm. Nestled below the National Afrikaans language monument at the foot of the Paarl mountains, there is more story than meets the eye.

The first four farms in today’s Suider Paarl, have already been granted by Johannes Muller, Magistrate of Stellenbosch in 1689. Picardie belonged to Isaac Taillefert, the father of Jean Taillefert, to whom Laborie was granted . La Concorde was granted to Gabrielle le Roux and Goede Hoop to Jean Cloudon. All these farms were 60 morg, stretching from the banks of the Bergriver as the Eastborder and Paarl Mountain as the West boarder.

The oldest building on Picardie farm (plot 3396) was built in 1923 by L.H. Louw for grape packing.

The oldest topographic sketch of the first permanent settlement in Paarl, drawn by E.V. Stade in 1710.

Essentially Picardie & Laborie was originally managed as one farm. On 1 August 1691, the two adjacent pieces of land of 60 morg each was granted to the Tailleferts. Picardie was dedicated to Isaac Taillefert and Laborie ( La Brie) to his 15 year old son Jean Taillefert. The Taillefert family came from Chateau Thierry in a part of the province Champagne, known as Brie. This is where Laborie’s name originates from and Picardie from the French province- Picardi.

Jacob De Villiers receives part of Picardie in 1814 and enlarges the property by buying part of Laborie in 1826. After this he names his farm “Labori et Picardi”. In 1842 he sells to Adriaan Jacobus Louw and eversince, it has been in the Louw family for 6 generations.

Louis Louw pioneered the growing of table grapes for the European export market and his son, Herold continued with planting olive orchids and figs on the farm. The manor house on Picardie was designed by architect Henri Louw in 1925, for his brother LH Louw senior. This house is a typical example of the Arts and Crafts Movement with the ‘rondavel-like reception room as an indigenious influence. This building style was common during the 20’s and 30’s of the 20th century in South

This little piece of land is packed with a wealth of “resources”. From it’s own natural spring, Picardie Spring Water have been providing restaurants and supermarkets in the region with it’s precious water, sourced from the farm, for almost 15 years now.

The farm carries table grapes for export as well as wine grapes and olives. The farmer Louis Louw prizes himself in making wine from his grapes and preserving olives. This wine is not available on the market, but once you get here, you can buy it from their local farmstall. This is what makes Picardie so unique and one of a kind: the personal hospitality, old farm style management and accommodation as it is on a family farm.


Picardie welcomes you for a visit!

To read more on our rich history, click here to download the full pdf.



  +27 (0) 21 86 333 57